Yap

My 2 weeks on Yap are nearly over. It is amazing how time flies by. A month ago I started my big journey and now the first third is already over. Somehow I am still not bored 😉

simply

I loved it here in Yap. The people are so friendly here. You also can do a lot next to diving.

My hotel, the O’Keefe’s waterfront inn,is simply wonderful. Cute rooms, wonderful staff and a great lounge for a drink before you go to bed. Divers will love this place as it has a special dry room, where you can place your gear in and after one or two hours everything is dry. So cool.

O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn

For me the best restaurant on the island is Oasis. Just across the street from the O’Keefe’s hotel. The most expensive dish is 15 USD. There is always a soup with the main course and salad. They were even so nice and prepared some taro, a local root, for me.

If you want to do diving, go to the Yap Divers. I really enjoyed diving with them. Sadly the weather wasn’t always great so we did mainly dives inside the lagoon. At Stammtisch you see Mantas, Mantas and even more Mantas. At Slow and Easy you see a lot of little things, like nudibranches, clownfish, leaf scropionfish and so on. I liked it there. Gordon is a wonderful dive guide and diving with him was always fun.

manta #3

I can only recommend to do some tours over the island. The Manta Ray hotel organizes them and they are really great. I did the full day island and the village tour. Both were wow! Now I know much more about Yap, the stone money and the locals.

basket

I for sure will come back to Yap one day as I want to do more diving here. My trip will take me now to Palau where I will be for a week on the Aggressor fleet for eat, sleep and dive 😉

Leave a comment